The Ashes Sydney

Without doubt cricket’s most important Test Series, The Ashes competition was founded in 1882 and is played by cricket’s oldest Test nations, England and Australia.

The Ashes series began thanks to a satirical obituary published in English newspaper, the Sporting Times. The article focused on England’s failure in losing to Australia on English soil for the first time in its short history, claiming that English cricket had died – with the ashes taken to Australia – leading to the establishment of cricket’s most illustrious Test series.

Overall, both sides are incredibly sitting on equal footing after 136 years of Ashes competition with 32 series wins each, emphasising the tightly contested nature of one of sport’s fiercest rivalries.

England come into the 2017/18 Ashes with four series win from the last five but were whitewashed for the third time in Ashes history the last time they made the trip to Australia.

Brisbane – November 23rd – 27th, 2017
Adelaide – December 2nd – 6th, 2017
Perth – December 14th – 18th, 2017
Melbourne – December 26th – December 30th, 2017
Sydney – January 4th – 8th, 2018